Skip to content

Three Things: The Kid Edition

2017 May 8

As we approach Mother’s Day, let’s focus on the little folks who make mothers what they are: crazy people. Just kidding. But let’s give some young’uns some adventures, shall we?

 

Angela Strassheim, Untitled (Horses), from Left Behind series. Photograph. www.angelastrassheim.com

 

Holly Andres, River Road: Milepost 39, from The Fallen Fawn series. Photograph. www.hollyandres.com

 

Jeremy Geddes, Acedia, 2012. Oil on board. www.jeremygeddesart.com

 

Three Things: The Birthday Balloon Edition

2017 March 7

Today marks Hazel & Wren’s sixth birthday! While we celebrate quietly amongst ourselves, let’s write about a birthday balloon (or another occasion that calls for a balloon). Cheers!

 

Julie Blackmon, Birthday Girl, from Domestic Vacations. Photograph. www.julieblackmon.com

 

Jasper Oostland, Zwarte ballon (Black balloon), 2007. Acrylic/silver foil on canvas. www.jasperoostland.com

 

David Graeme Baker, Cutout, 2013. Oil on panel. www.davidgbakerpainting.com

 

Three Things: The Family Edition

2017 February 20

This week let’s focus on family dynamics, or at least a moment in a family’s day. Will the moment you choose be mundane or fraught with emotion? Quiet or chaotic? Here are three moments in three different families to get you started.

 

Julie Blackmon, Stolen Kiss, from Domestic Vacations series. Photograph. www.julieblackmon.com

 

William Eggleston, Black family by the sea, published in Los Alamos, 2002. Photograph. www.egglestontrust.com

 

Larry Sultan, Close Up, 1992, from Pictures from Home series. Photograph. www.larrysultan.com

 

Three Things: The Empty House Edition

2017 February 6

Let’s suppose your character finds her or himself in an empty house. What happens next?

 

William Eggleston, Untitled, from 10.D.70.V2. Photograph. www.egglestontrust.com

 

Anna Ådén, Untitled from Plainness series. Photograph. www.imable.se

 

Michael Cappabianca, The Aztecs, from The Material. Photograph. www.michaelcappabianca.com